Naked or Nude in the Shower?

The shower is one of my favorite places.  God talks to me in the shower.  I think it’s because my mind has just enough to do that it doesn’t wonder, but not enough that it starts to take off on it’s own rabbit trails.  So this morning I thought I would try something different.  Instead of just listening, I thought I would cry out to Him.  I thought I would be asking and knocking for the two things that I am most seeking from Him right now.  My surprise was that I immediately felt naked before Him.  I had never before felt naked.  It never came up.

But today I felt naked.  And I immediately thought of Adam and Eve.  They felt naked because they had sinned.  They had agreed with the enemy, Satan.  But Christ came and took back what was lost (Mat.18:11), to cleanse us from all unrighteousness (1 John 1:9).  His blood envelops us and makes any sin or impurity invisible before God.  So why did I feel naked.  Is there a requirement of asking that there is not in the listening?

And did I feel naked because of unresolved sin?  What is that?  Is it sin that we haven’t let go?  Like “work in process” in a factory.  This is an object that has been started but has not been completed.  It is under way but is not done.  So is there sin that I have begun but have not yet let go of?  On the Cross, Jesus said “It is finished!”   But if we look at ourselves, is there sin that is not finished because we’re clutching on to it?  Don’t get me wrong, the Blood has done its work for all eternity, but our wrong choices, our choice to hold on to sin, that keeps us feeling separated from God.  And remember that He not only provides the redemptive payment for sin by the Blood, but also the strength and support of the Holy Spirit to help us make the right choices.

Any behavior or thought pattern or emotion that keeps us from feeling pure before God, we need to be done with. those behaviors make us feel shame when we’re alone with ourselves, and alone before God – which is always.

About Franco Guerri

Born and raised in Rome Italy; immigrated to the US at ten; UC Berkeley activist during the Vietnam antiwar era; Hollywood assistant cameraman and film editor; spent the next few years seeking God, praying and meditating in France and the US; married 30 years to a beautiful artist/designer wife with whom he co-labors; two amazing sons; post graduate studies in engineering and Bible; discovered God as a personal relationship and the Cross as the bridge to Him; started and managed two successful manufacturing businesses in California and Montana. Now residing in Longmont, Colorado, close to his two sons and their families. Among other endeavors, he is writing a movie script about an Iraq war veteran who loses both his legs in the war.
This entry was posted in belief, Christianity, faith, God, inspiration, philosophy, religion, revelation, spirituality, victorious living and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Naked or Nude in the Shower?

  1. Valarie says:

    FOR THE WORD OF GOD IS ALIVE QUICK AND POWERFUL SHARPER THAN ANY DOUBLED EDGED SWORD DIVIDING ASUNDER WE ARE NAKED AND OPEN
    SO SAYS THE WORD

Leave a Reply

