The Big Lie

My old girl, Tessy. True love!

My old girl, Tessy. True love!

I was in my apartment in a somewhat questionable part of town, when a man walked up to my living room window, pulled out a glass cutter and began to make a long incision. Angered but feeling somewhat threatened, I opened the front door and began talking to this man. I told him to please stop because that would be expensive to repair and I was out of work just then. Probably surprised by this unusual approached, he replaced the tool to his pocket and walked over to me. We began talking and before long he decided to enter my apartment, and we continued to talk. As the door remained open, some people walking by heard us talking and followed him in. Pretty soon the house was full of people, all talking and visiting with each other.
That’s when I became aware that this had been a dream, and in my half awake state, I found myself asking the question: “what would I have to say if this were to happen in real life? What is the essential message that I would give that would be the most essential message, and one that would lead to more conversations? What is the message that could touch anyone regardless of education or belief system or religious affiliation or lack thereof?” It had to be a universal message that could be received by anyone so it necessarily could not include religious language.
What would I say if, for some unknown reasons, a bunch of people found themselves in my living room ready to listen to what I had to say? Or if a single person popped into my life and the opportunity presented itself? What could touch anyone because it touches something that is universally already there engraved in our hearts? … And instantly I knew! At least I knew how it would start, and I began to write, with my headlamp on, the one I wear not to disturb my wife. In this case, my wife was gone for a couple of days, and I wore it so as not to awaken myself too much, and break the connection with something greater than myself.
Immediately I knew the answer. It was so obvious, as if I’d always known. What is that first thing we must all know before we can understand anything else: why are we here, who are we, why are we here, now doing what we’re doing and not somewhere else? And further questions, such as is there a God, and is death final.

The answer is simple: there is a reason and a purpose for your life, and nothing is an accident, nothing is random. You were designed and created for a purpose. And there are clues you can follow to discover that purpose.
What if the biggest lie perpetrated on humanity is that everything is random and there is no pattern, there is no purpose. Imagine there is a switch in your head, and it has two positions. One position is marked, “life has a purpose”. The other position is marked, “everything is random”. I propose that when that switch is on, life is allowed to enter and do its miraculous work, arranging all things wherever it goes. But when we accept that lie, that everything happens by chance, the switch is off, and the juice of life, the power, does not flow. This off position brings desiccation. When the water doesn’t flow, the plant starts to dry up, and eventually it dies. We’re like that plant. When we believe that there is no purpose or reason for us to exist; that we’re the result of random combinations of DNA coding, we also begin to dry up. Eventually we die and that is the end.
Just ask yourself why most people hope that they will not be forgotten?With some this drive is so strong that they want desperately to leave a legacy. American presidents seem to have this desire for legacy, so they build libraries for us to remember them by. Why? You guessed it: they too have that innate desire to believe in a purpose, a grand design, a reason why they’re here. If everything is the result of random chance, there can be no purpose.
This desire for a purpose is baked in to the way we were made.Consider the opposite condition: believing the big lie. When we finally succumb to the belief that we have no purpose, no raisin d’etre, no reason for being, we experience desperation. Maybe desperation, which today may be better known as depression. Isn’t that what depression generally is? The belief that you have no purpose, no meaningful connection to those around you, and that if you weren’t there it wouldn’t really matter to anyone.
This type of depression often happens even to people surrounded by loving family and friends. So how can this be? Right again: it comes with the belief that you are a random spec of DNA, without purpose, and that none cares, and nothing will be different when you’re gone.
Why do the most selfish people on earth want to have children? What drives us all to want to reproduce? And no the answer is not sex. The answer is also not a biological clock or instinct. That is also part of the lie. We are not animals, driven by animal urges. We are humans, designed for a purpose. And everything we do has a purpose. Everything is connected and inter-connected. This belief is the best cure for depression, and the best suicide prevention. (I will concede that there may be cases of chemical or physical imbalances of the brain which are outside of the scope of this blog)
Just now, my dog insistently asked to be let out. It’s almost 7:00 am and it’s time for Tessy, my 11 year old black Lab to go outside and have her breakfast. My first thought is that this is an annoying interruption. But as I watch her run out into the back yard, the thought comes to me. Why do we all want to have a dog or a cat? Why is it said that having a pet extends your life? They can be a huge nuisance. I often think of people living in the city having to walk their dogs every single time they have to relieve themselves. Stairs, elevators, sidewalks, cleaning up after them…
Why do we do it?Ah, yes, the ultimate purpose. We are designed to love! In fact the ultimate conclusion to the big lie is to reduce love to an animal instinct. The truth is that love is our greatest purpose, and without it we’re really not alive. The absence of love leads to depression and even death. But love leads to joy and the knowledge deep in our being that we have a purpose, and all is well with the universe.
Invest in relationships. Believe in a grand design and that you were uniquely made for a purpose. Find people who believe in these things and spend time with them. Cherish life, even when it hurts. There really is an eternal future!

About Franco Guerri

Born and raised in Rome Italy; immigrated to the US at ten; UC Berkeley activist during the Vietnam antiwar era; Hollywood assistant cameraman and film editor; spent the next few years seeking God, praying and meditating in France and the US; married 30 years to a beautiful artist/designer wife with whom he co-labors; two amazing sons; post graduate studies in engineering and Bible; discovered God as a personal relationship and the Cross as the bridge to Him; started and managed two successful manufacturing businesses in California and Montana. Now residing in Longmont, Colorado, close to his two sons and their families. Among other endeavors, he is writing a movie script about an Iraq war veteran who loses both his legs in the war.
This entry was posted in belief, Depression, philosophy, reality, religion, revelation, Suicide and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

